Event life cycle (e03)

Thursday, August 26, 2021

Jan Trnka, Polaris-Team

Event life cycle explained on an example of a Rotary event.

Event passes several phases:

  1. Creation
  2. Invitation (optional)
  3. Registration (optional)
  4. Attendance capture
  5. Report
  6. Event closure

1. Creation

The timeline begins in Polaris with the creation of the event in calendar. For club events the active members, prospects and guests are inserted as potential participants into the participant list at the creation time. For district events the participant list is empty. The participant list can be extended manually with members from any club and with other people.

Newly created event is inactive in the Web and it's visibility is set to All members (own unit) by default. Consider the GDPR guide when setting the visibility. (The Polaris team strongly advises to consider making events non-public for the sake of GDPR.)

Before you make the event visible in Web consider the registration, questions and answers you want to get from the participants. Verify the functionality of the registration form. Once the people start registering, it is no longer possible to modify the questions!

2. Invitation (optional)

The organizer issues an invitation i.e. an announcement of a future event to the invited audience. Invitation is optional and can occur by e-mail or just by publishing the event on the Website in the slider or in the carousel. Events with regular schedule usually do not have an invitation. Invitation by e-mail can be created directly in the "Participants" tab of that event. The created e-mail is visible in the Menu "Club-Life > Emails"  and can be modified there before sending. The invited audience can be defined by means of predefined recipient groups and can be extended with members of the community or with any e-mail address.

Creating invitation e-mail

3. Registration (optional)

Registration is enabled in the "Registration parameters" tab of the event. After making the event visible on the web and enabling registration, people can register to that event. Registration is a confirmation of a prospective participation or denial of participation to a future event. The registration is recorded in the event and is visible in the tab "Participants".

The visibility of the event defines who can register. If the event is public, any person can register. People who are not yet on the participant list are automatically added when they fill the registration form. For all Polaris users who logged-in, the registration form is pre-filled with their personal data. They may be duplicates when users do not login before registration or when people register twice with different names. The Polaris team strongly advises to consider making events non-public (for the sake of GDPR). An e-mail of confirmation with his/her choices is sent to the person. This makes it necessary to login first and eliminates the problem with duplicates.

Each event has a registration deadline.The users may modify or withdraw their registration by this deadline.  While the registration period is active, the organizers (can be multiple), defined in the "General" tab will receive an e-mail for each registration, de-registration or registration change, including all registration options (answers).

For club events, it is possible, before the registration deadline expires, to automatically send reminders  to members who did not register or de-register yet ("no answers").

When the maximum number of participants is reached, registered users are put on a waiting list. They are finally registered, if the current number of participants drops below the maximum. In such case they will receive the final confirmation e-mail.

After the deadline, registration is not possible from the Website. However administrators can still register people on their behalf for that event. Such participants will also receive an e-mail of confirmation.

Registration form

4. Attendance capture

An Attendance is the confirmation of the physical appearance of the participant to an event. The purpose of the attendance capture is to keep track on the effective presence of the participants and of their payments. Attendance is recorded in the event in the tab "Participants".  The capture can be easily performed manually on the form, or by scanning  the QR-code of the participants (see below).

Alternatively, the attendance list can be printed out via "Export" button, signed by the participants and manually entered by an administrator.

This action can be performed by administrators only. A special role "Attendance capture" allows non-administrators, e.g. the rotarian in charge of the welcome, or the restaurant personnel to capture the attendance, but not to perform any other function.

The recording of attendance is possible only on the day of the event or afterwards.

Attendance capture form

Attendance capture with QR-code

The attendance capture can be simplified by scanning the QR-code of the members. The one in charge opens the event on his smartphone and clicks on the "Participants" button in the event detail page. Then he invokes the camera by clicking on the "Scan QR-code" button and starts the scanning process.

The attendees present their personal QR-code either on smartphone or printed on a sticker. The individual QR-code is available on smartphones or tablets by clicking on the blue icon "little man" in the top-right corner, or by invoking the NAVIGATION symbol then MY-SETTINGS. The printed stickers with the QR-codes can be made available by the administrator or printed by the members themselves. For a members missing both his smartphone and his sticker, one can prepare a pre-printed set of all members QR-codes. (See next section)

Successful scan is confirmed by a pipes-tone, errors are signaled as quack-tone. Visual message shows the scan outcome. Duplicate scans are detected.

QR-code scanning is applicable to all members of the club, i.e. to active members + guests + prospects + other contacts, but also to any active rotarian of the same multi-district (CH/FL, resp. France, resp. Belux, etc...)

The QR-code is an encoded representation of the Rotary-ID. No other data is present in the code.

Personal QR-code

5. Report

The best way to record the club's history is to attach the minutes of events directly to the event. Modern communication of reports is done by an attractive newsletter containing links to these reports, together with the announcement of future events and news. Event reports are entered by adapting or replacing the primary text block announcing the event, and by adding photos taken at the event.

6. Event closure

The purpose of the closure is to finalize all transactions related to this event. The presence points are assigned to the attendees and fees are deducted from the financial accounts of the members.

A closed event can be re-opened to correct the attendance. Financial transactions cannot be undone for audit reasons. Compensating reverse transactions are issued in a such case.


Printed formats of the QR-codes

The QR codes can be provided on paper in two different formats.

1. Stickers

Stickers are handy small labels which the member sticks on a credit card or any other means in their wallet. The stickers are printable on any laser or ink-jet printer. A PDF file is available in administration under Utility > Member list > Export > QR Stickers

A4 pages of 13 columns by 5 stickers are printed on Avery sticker pages whose order references are:

  • Universal stickers for both printers: Avery 3666 (will be better aligned in R1.1)
  • Older stickers for laser printers: Avery L7615-15
  • Older stickers for ink-jet printers: Avery J8651-12

Various on-line providers exist:

Warning: a proper printing is obtained by setting the scale to 100%, other wise the QR-codes will not fit to the sticker layout!

2. Folder with printed QR-codes

For scanning the QR-code of a member who misses both his smartphone and his sticker, one can scan his QR-code in a pre-printed set of all members QR-codes available for being printed, in administration under 
Utility > Member list > Export > QR Overview

The printout includes all active members of the own club, but not guests and other contacts.

Universal Avery stickers for Polaris QR-codes for both printers

Avery stickers for Polaris QR-codes for laser printers

Avery stickers for Polaris QR-codes for inkjet printers

Cycle de vie des événements (e03)

jeudi 26 août 2021

Jan Trnka, Polaris-Team

Cycle de vie d'un événement expliqué par un exemple d'événement rotarien.

L'événement passe par plusieurs phases :

  1. Création
  2. Invitation (facultatif)
  3. Inscription (facultatif)
  4. Saisie des présences
  5. Rapport
  6. Clôture de l'événement

1. Création

La chronologie commence dans Polaris avec la création de l'événement dans le calendrier. Pour les événements de club, les membres actifs, les prospects et les invités sont insérés comme participants potentiels dans la liste des participants au moment de la création. Pour les événements de district, la liste des participants est vide. La liste des participants peut être complétée manuellement avec des membres de n'importe quel club et avec d'autres personnes.

L'événement nouvellement créé est inactif sur le Web et sa visibilité est fixée à Tous les membres (propre unité) par défaut. Tenez compte du guide RGDP lorsque vous définissez la visibilité. (L'Equipe de Polaris conseille vivement de rendre les événements non publics pour le bien du RGDP).

Avant de rendre l'événement visible sur le Web, pensez à l'inscription, aux questions et aux réponses que vous souhaitez obtenir des participants. Vérifiez la fonctionnalité du formulaire d'inscription. Une fois que les personnes commencent à s'inscrire, il n'est plus possible de modifier les questions !

2. Invitation (facultatif)

L'organisateur lance une invitation, c'est-à-dire l'annonce d'un événement futur au public invité. L'invitation est facultative et peut être envoyée par courrier électronique ou simplement par la publication de l'événement sur le site Web, dans le slider ou dans le carrousel. Les événements ayant une fréquence régulière ne nécessitent généralement pas d'invitation. L'invitation par e-mail peut être créée directement dans l'onglet "Participants" de cet événement. L'e-mail créé est visible dans le menu "Club-Life > Emails" et peut y être modifié avant d'être envoyé. Le public invité peut être défini au moyen de groupes de destinataires prédéfinis et peut être étendu avec des membres de la communauté ou avec n'importe quelle adresse e-mail.

Création d'un e-mail d'invitation

3. Inscription (facultatif)

Les inscriptions sont autorisées dans l'onglet "Paramètres d'enregistrement" de l'événement. Après avoir rendu l'événement visible sur le web et activé les inscriptions, les personnes peuvent s'inscrire à cet événement. L'enregistrement est une confirmation d'une participation future ou un refus de participation à un événement futur. L'inscription est enregistrée dans l'événement et est visible dans l'onglet "Participants".

La visibilité de l'événement définit qui peut s'inscrire. Si l'événement est public, toute personne peut s'inscrire. Les personnes qui ne sont pas encore sur la liste des participants sont automatiquement ajoutées lorsqu'elles remplissent le formulaire d'inscription. Pour tous les utilisateurs de Polaris qui se sont connectés, le formulaire d'inscription est pré-rempli avec leurs données personnelles. Il peut y avoir des doublons lorsque les utilisateurs ne se connectent pas avant de s'inscrire ou lorsque des personnes s'inscrivent deux fois avec des noms différents. L'équipe de Polaris conseille vivement de rendre les événements non publics (par respect du RGDP). Un e-mail de confirmation avec ses choix est envoyé à la personne. Cela oblige à se connecter d'abord et élimine le problème des doublons.

Chaque événement a une date limite d'inscription et les utilisateurs peuvent modifier ou annuler leur inscription avant cette date. Pendant que la période d'inscription est active, les organisateurs (qui peuvent être multiples), définis dans l'onglet "Général", recevront un e-mail pour chaque inscription, désinscription ou modification d'inscription, avec toutes les options d'inscription (réponses).

Pour les événements de club, il est possible, avant l'expiration du délai d'inscription, d'envoyer automatiquement des rappels aux membres qui ne se sont pas encore inscrits ou désinscrits ("pas de réponses").

Lorsque le nombre maximal de participants est atteint, les utilisateurs inscrits sont placés sur une liste d'attente. Ils sont finalement inscrits lorsque le nombre actuel de participants passe en dessous du maximum. Dans ce cas, ils recevront un e-mail de confirmation.

Après la date limite, l'inscription n'est plus possible à partir du site Web. Toutefois, les administrateurs peuvent toujours inscrire des personnes en leur nom pour cet événement. Ces participants reçoivent également un e-mail de confirmation.

Formulaire d'inscription

4. Saisie des présences

Une présence est la confirmation de l'apparition physique d'un participant à un événement. Le but de la saisie des présences est de garder une trace de la présence effective des participants et de leurs paiements. Les présences sont enregistrées dans l'événement dans l'onglet "Participants". La capture peut être facilement effectuée manuellement sur le formulaire, ou en scannant le QR-code des participants (voir ci-dessous).

Il est également possible d'imprimer la liste des présences via le bouton "Exporter", de la faire signer par les participants et de la faire saisir manuellement par un administrateur.

Cette action ne peut être effectuée que par les administrateurs. Un rôle spécial "Saisie des présences" permet à des non-administrateurs, par exemple le rotarien chargé de l'accueil ou le personnel du restaurant, de saisir les présences, mais pas d'exécuter d'autres fonctions.

L'enregistrement des présences n'est possible que le jour de l'événement ou après coup.


Formulaire de saisie des présences

Saisie des présences par codes QR

La saisie des présences peut être simplifiée en scannant le code QR des membres. Le responsable ouvre l'événement sur son smartphone et clique sur le bouton "Participants" dans la page de détail de l'événement. Il active ensuite l'appareil photo en cliquant sur le bouton "Scan code QR" et lance le processus de numérisation.

Les participants présentent leur code QR personnel soit sur smartphone, soit imprimé sur un autocollant. Le code QR individuel est disponible sur les smartphones ou les tablettes en cliquant sur l'icône bleue "petit bonhomme" dans le coin supérieur droit, ou en cliquant sur le symbole de NAVIGATION puis MES RÉGLAGES. Les autocollants imprimés avec les codes QR peuvent être mis à disposition par l'administrateur ou imprimés par les membres eux-mêmes. Pour un membre qui n'a ni son smartphone ni son autocollant, on peut préparer un jeu pré-imprimé de tous les codes QR des membres. (Voir section suivante)

Un scan réussi est confirmé par un signal sonore aigu , les erreurs sont signalées par un signal sonore grave. Un message visuel indique le résultat du scan. Les scans en double sont détectés.

Le scan du code QR est applicable à tous les membres du club, c'est-à-dire aux membres actifs + invités + prospects + autres contacts, mais aussi à tout rotarien actif du même multi-district (CH/FL, resp. France, resp. Belux, etc...)

Le code QR est une représentation codée de l'Identifiant Rotary International. Aucune autre donnée n'est présente dans le code.

Code QR personnel

5. Compte-rendu

La meilleure façon d'enregistrer l'histoire du club est de joindre les compte-rendus des événements directement à l'événement. La communication moderne des comptes rendus se fait par le biais d'une newsletter attrayante qui comprend des liens vers ces compte-rendus, ainsi que des annonces d'événements futurs et de nouvelles. Les compte-rendus d'événements sont saisis en adaptant ou en remplaçant le bloc de texte principal annonçant l'événement et en ajoutant des photos de l'événement.

6. Clôture de l'événement

L'objectif de la clôture est de finaliser toutes les transactions liées à cet événement. Les points de présence sont attribués aux participants et les frais sont déduits des comptes financiers des membres.

Un événement clôturé peut être réouvert pour corriger des présences.. Les transactions financières ne peuvent pas être annulées pour des raisons d'audit. Des transactions inverses compensatoires sont émises dans un tel cas.


Formats imprimés des codes QR

Les codes QR peuvent être fournis sur papier dans deux formats différents.

1. Autocollants

Les autocollants sont de petites étiquettes pratiques que le membre colle sur une carte de crédit ou tout autre moyen dans son portefeuille. Les autocollants sont imprimables sur toute imprimante laser ou à jet d'encre. Un fichier PDF est disponible dans l'administration sous Utilitaire > Liste des membres > Exportation > Etiqu. QR (AVERY L7651/J8651)

Les pages A4 de 13 colonnes par 5 autocollants sont imprimées sur des pages d'autocollants Avery dont les références d'ordre sont :

  • Autocollants universels pour les deux imprimantes : Avery 3666 (sera mieux aligné dans la R1.1)
  • Anciens autocollants pour imprimantes laser : Avery L7615-15
  • Anciens autocollants pour imprimantes à jet d'encre : Avery J8651-12

Il existe différents fournisseurs en ligne :

Attention : une impression correcte est obtenue en réglant l'échelle à 100%, sinon les codes QR ne s'adapteront pas à la mise en page de l'autocollant !

2. Dossier avec les codes QR imprimés

Pour scanner le code QR d'un membre qui n'a pas son smartphone ni son autocollant, on peut scanner son code QR dans un jeu pré-imprimé de tous les codes QR des membres, en administration sous Utilitaires > Liste de membres > Exportation > Aperçu codes QR

L'impression comprend tous les membres actifs du club, mais pas les invités ni les autres contacts.

Autocollants universels Avery pour les codes QR Polaris pour les deux imprimantes

Autocollants Avery pour codes QR Polaris pour imprimantes laser

Autocollants Avery pour codes QR Polaris pour imprimantes à jet d'encre