Rotary in Switzerland and Liechtenstein

The first Rotary club was established in Chicago on February 23rd, 1905. At the end of the First World War there were already 500 Rotary clubs across the world; by 1921 that number had risen to 1000 around the globe. In Europe, too, the first clubs were set up, such as in Madrid and Paris for example. At the Rotary headquarters in Chicago there was an increasing desire to found a club in German-speaking Europe, which finally happened in 1924 in Zurich.

ZThe Paris club was instrumental in the club's foundation and became its sponsor. In 1925 further clubs followed in Basel, Bern, Geneva, Lucerne and St. Gallen. The first club in the Principality of Liechtenstein was established in 1957.

Today Rotary has more than 13250 members in Switzerland and Liechtenstein across more than 220 different clubs. Each district is led by a district governor. 

District 1990 - West Switzerland
District 1980 - Central Switzerland
District 2000 - East Switzerland and Liechtenstein

Our Causes

Rotary mobilises its members in focused priority areas. This allows us to pool knowledge, experience and resources to find sustainable solutions - worldwide.
The seven Rotary focus areas are

  1. Promoting peace
  2. Fighting disease
  3. Water and sanitation
  4. Protection of mother and child
  5. Education
  6. Business start-ups and local economic development
  7. Environmental protection

Read more