Publishing of images, copyright issues

Tuesday, March 23, 2021

Jan Trnka, Polaris-Team

The revised Swiss Copyright Act (URG) came into force on 1 April 2020 and now protects all photos. When using photos of third parties for the homepage, the permission of the copyright holder is required - otherwise there may be consequences under criminal and civil law.

All photographs are now protected by copyright

With the copyright revision, all photographs are now protected across the board - regardless of whether they were taken by a professional or an amateur. This now also includes everyday snapshots, family and holiday photos, landscape pictures, product shots, press photos, etc. Thus, from now on, the permission of the copyright holder is always required if these images are to be used.

The prerequisite for protection is that the image depicts a three-dimensional object that was photographed with a camera or mobile phone. Protection of two-dimensional originals, i.e. a photocopy, photo of another image, photographs of texts and plans, etc., is not included.

Where these new regulations apply

The new copyright law thus has a concrete effect on many everyday situations: the use of other people's photos on one's own homepage or third party product photos in the webshop etc. is also no longer permitted without consent. It is also no longer permitted to post third-party images on social media (Facebook, Instagram...) without the consent of the copyright holder. However, sharing/linking image content is usually not a problem. An exception is the use of copyrighted images for purely private use. Such a photo can be downloaded to a PC and used as a wallpaper, for example.

Retroactive application of copyright law

The new protection of photographs also applies to old photographs taken before 01 April 2020. When using these, the consent of the author is therefore also required. If such an image has already been used on one's own website, no subsequent consent is required. However, a renewed use of the image in another context is no longer permitted.

Alternative options for image use

There are various portals on the internet that offer high-quality images, so-called stock photos, for free (and usually also commercial) use.

Some of the best-known platforms for free images are Pixabay, Pexels or Unsplash. In addition to these, there are also paid offerings with a variety of other professional images - platforms such as shutterstock or Adobe Stock are worth mentioning here.


Note:

PicRights Europe GmbH searches the Internet for images on behalf of Reuters News & Media Inc. and checks whether a copyright infringement has occurred. If an image is used illegally, PicRights collects the licence fees and possible fines on behalf of the client.

The agency is constantly finding new and old images on the websites of Rotary clubs that infringe copyrights and for which no licence fees have been paid. The subsequent payment of royalties is expensive.

Publikation von Bildern, Urheberrechte

Dienstag, 23. März 2021

Jan Trnka, Polaris-Team

Das revidierte schweizerische Urheberrechtsgesetz (URG) ist am 01. April 2020 in Kraft getreten und schützt neu grundsätzlich alle Fotos. Bei der Verwendung Fotos Dritter für die Homepage braucht es somit stets die Erlaubnis des Urhebers – ansonsten können Straf- und Zivilrechtliche Konsequenzen drohen.

Neu sind alle Fotografien urheberrechtlich geschützt

Mit der Urheberrechtsrevision werden neu pauschal alle Fotografien geschützt – unabhängig, ob diese vom Profi oder vom Laien angefertigt wurden. Hierunter fallen nun auch alltägliche Schnappschüsse, Familien- und Urlaubsfotos, Landschaftsbilder, Produktaufnahmen, Pressefotos usw. Somit ist ab sofort grundsätzlich immer die Erlaubnis des Urhebers erforderlich, wenn diese Bilder verwendet werden sollen.

Voraussetzung für den Schutz ist, dass das Bild ein dreidimensionales Objekt abbilden, welches mit der Kamera oder dem Handy fotografiert wurde. Ein Schutz von zweidimensionalen Vorlagen, also eine Fotokopie, Foto eines anderen Bildes, Fotografien von Texten und Plänen etc., ist nicht inkludiert.

Wo diese neuen Regelungen greifen

Das neue Urheberrecht wirkt sich somit konkret auf viele Alltagssituationen aus: die Verwendung von fremden Fotos auf der eigenen Homepage oder Produktfotos Dritter im Webshop etc. ist ohne Einverständnis ebenfalls nicht mehr gestattet. Auch dürfen keine fremden Bilder mehr auf Social Media (Facebook, Instagram…) ohne Zustimmung des Urhebers gepostet werden. Das Teilen/Verlinken von Bildinhalten stellt i.d.R. jedoch kein Problem dar. Eine Ausnahme stellt die Verwendung von urheberrechtlich geschützten Bildern für den rein privaten Gebrauch dar. So kann solch ein Foto auf den PC heruntergeladen und z.B. als Bildschirmhintergrund eingesetzt werden.

Rückwirkende Anwendung des Urheberrechts

Der neue Lichtbildschutz gilt auch für alte Fotos, welche vor dem 01. April 2020 aufgenommen wurden. Bei Verwendung dieser wird somit ebenfalls die Zustimmung des Urhebers erforderlich. Wenn ein solches Bild bereits auf der eigenen Webseite eingesetzt wurde, bedarf es keiner nachträglichen Einwilligung. Allerdings ist eine erneute Verwendung des Bildes in einem anderen Kontext nicht mehr zulässig.

Alternative Möglichkeiten für die Bildnutzung

Es gibt verschiedene Portale im Internet, welche hochwertige Bilder, sog. Stockfotos, zur freien (und meist auch kommerziellen) Verwendung anbieten.

Einige der bekanntesten Plattformen für kostenlose Bilder sind Pixabay, Pexels oder Unsplash. Neben diesen gibt es auch kostenpflichtige Angebote mit einer Vielzahl an weiteren professionellen Bildern - hier sind Plattformen wie shutterstock oder Adobe Stock erwähnenswert.


Bemerkung:

Die PicRights Europe GmbH sucht im Auftrag von Reuters News & MediaInc. im Internet nach Bildern und überprüft ob eine Urheberrechtsverletzung vorliegt. Wird ein Bild widerrechtlich verwendet, so treibt die PicRights die Lizenzgebühren und eventuelle Bussen im Namen des Auftraggebers ein.

Die Agentur findet immer wieder neue und alte Bilder auf den Web-Seiten von Rotary-Clubs, welche die Urheberrechte verletzen und für welche keine Lizenzgebühren bezahlt wurden. Die Nachzahlung der Lizenzgebühren ist teuer.