Publishing of images, copyright issues

Tuesday, March 23, 2021

Jan Trnka, Polaris-Team

The revised Swiss Copyright Act (URG) came into force on 1 April 2020 and now protects all photos. When using photos of third parties for the homepage, the permission of the copyright holder is required - otherwise there may be consequences under criminal and civil law.

All photographs are now protected by copyright

With the copyright revision, all photographs are now protected across the board - regardless of whether they were taken by a professional or an amateur. This now also includes everyday snapshots, family and holiday photos, landscape pictures, product shots, press photos, etc. Thus, from now on, the permission of the copyright holder is always required if these images are to be used.

The prerequisite for protection is that the image depicts a three-dimensional object that was photographed with a camera or mobile phone. Protection of two-dimensional originals, i.e. a photocopy, photo of another image, photographs of texts and plans, etc., is not included.

Where these new regulations apply

The new copyright law thus has a concrete effect on many everyday situations: the use of other people's photos on one's own homepage or third party product photos in the webshop etc. is also no longer permitted without consent. It is also no longer permitted to post third-party images on social media (Facebook, Instagram...) without the consent of the copyright holder. However, sharing/linking image content is usually not a problem. An exception is the use of copyrighted images for purely private use. Such a photo can be downloaded to a PC and used as a wallpaper, for example.

Retroactive application of copyright law

The new protection of photographs also applies to old photographs taken before 01 April 2020. When using these, the consent of the author is therefore also required. If such an image has already been used on one's own website, no subsequent consent is required. However, a renewed use of the image in another context is no longer permitted.

Alternative options for image use

There are various portals on the internet that offer high-quality images, so-called stock photos, for free (and usually also commercial) use.

Some of the best-known platforms for free images are Pixabay, Pexels or Unsplash. In addition to these, there are also paid offerings with a variety of other professional images - platforms such as shutterstock or Adobe Stock are worth mentioning here.


Note:

PicRights Europe GmbH searches the Internet for images on behalf of Reuters News & Media Inc. and checks whether a copyright infringement has occurred. If an image is used illegally, PicRights collects the licence fees and possible fines on behalf of the client.

The agency is constantly finding new and old images on the websites of Rotary clubs that infringe copyrights and for which no licence fees have been paid. The subsequent payment of royalties is expensive.

Publication d'images, questions de droits d'auteur

mardi 23 mars 2021

Jan Trnka, Polaris-Team

La loi suisse révisée sur le droit d'auteur (LDA) est entrée en vigueur le 1er avril 2020 et protège désormais toutes les photos en principe. Lors de l'utilisation de photos de tiers pour la page d'accueil, l'autorisation de l'auteur est toujours requise - sinon des conséquences pénales et civiles peuvent menacer.

Toutes les photographies sont désormais protégées par le droit d'auteur

Avec la révision du droit d'auteur, toutes les photographies sont désormais protégées, qu'elles aient été prises par un professionnel ou un amateur. Cela inclut désormais les clichés de tous les jours, les photos de famille et de vacances, les photos de paysages, les photos de produits, les photos de presse, etc. L'autorisation du titulaire du droit d'auteur est donc dorénavant toujours requise pour l'utilisation de ces images.

La condition préalable à la protection est que l'image représente un objet tridimensionnel qui a été photographié avec un appareil photo ou un téléphone portable. La protection des originaux bidimensionnels, c'est-à-dire une photocopie, une photo d'une autre image, des photographies de textes et de plans, etc. n'est pas incluse.

Où s'applique cette nouvelle réglementation

La nouvelle loi sur le droit d'auteur a donc un effet concret sur de nombreuses situations quotidiennes : l'utilisation de photos d'autrui sur sa propre page d'accueil ou de photos de produits de tiers dans la boutique en ligne, etc. n'est également plus autorisée sans consentement. Il n'est également plus permis de publier des images de tiers sur les médias sociaux (Facebook, Instagram...) sans le consentement du titulaire du droit d'auteur. Toutefois, le partage/la mise en lien de contenus d'images ne pose généralement pas de problème. Une exception est l'utilisation d'images protégées par le droit d'auteur pour un usage purement privé. Une telle photo peut être téléchargée sur un PC et utilisée comme fond d'écran, par exemple.

Application rétroactive du droit d'auteur

La nouvelle protection des photographies s'applique également aux anciennes photographies prises avant le 1er avril 2020. Lors de l'utilisation de celles-ci, le consentement de l'auteur est donc également requis. Si une telle image a déjà été utilisée sur son propre site web, aucun consentement ultérieur n'est requis. En revanche, une nouvelle utilisation de l'image dans un autre contexte n'est plus autorisée.

Autres possibilités d'utilisation des images

Il existe plusieurs portails sur Internet qui proposent des images de haute qualité, appelées "photos de stock", pour une utilisation gratuite (et généralement aussi commerciale).

Les plateformes les plus connues pour les images gratuites sont Pixabay, Pexels ou Unsplash. En outre, il existe également des offres payantes avec une variété d'autres images professionnelles - des plateformes telles que Shutterstock ou Adobe Stock méritent d'être mentionnées ici.

Avel la permission de: Alex Dörrer, 02. Avril 2020
https://www.hosttech.de/blog/neues-urheberrecht-die-auswirkungen-auf-homepages


Note :

PicRights Europe GmbH recherche des images sur Internet pour le compte de Reuters News & Media Inc. et vérifie si une violation des droits d'auteur a eu lieu. Si une image est utilisée illégalement, PicRights perçoit les droits de licence et les éventuelles amendes au nom du client.

L'agence trouve constamment sur les sites web des Rotary clubs des images nouvelles et anciennes qui enfreignent les droits d'auteur et pour lesquelles aucun droit de licence n'a été payé. Le paiement ultérieur des redevances est coûteux.